Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Anet A8 suddenly prints like crap

Posted by dlc60 
Anet A8 suddenly prints like crap
February 02, 2019 05:16PM
I have had this printer for about a year now, and initially it printed fabulously. In the last two months that has all changed, without me changing a thing.
Really, I haven't so much as tightened a belt (they are all just fine, incidentally). I have been using 3D printers for almost two years now, and built several. This one has me stumped.

I use CURA 3.4 and Simplify3D 4.1.1 as my slicer/printers
I am using Octoprint on Rpi B (the original one, not the 2B or 3cool smiley.
My A8 has lots up upgrades on it to stiffen the frame. It has a custom carriage with a genuine E3Dv6 and an "Itty bitty belted extruder" on it.
I am running Marlin 1.1.8 using the suggested configuration for the A8.
Here is my printer

I have, in the last few weeks:
Checked the belts
Checked the extruder for excess grindy stuff
replaced the nozzle
leveled the bed
zero'd the bed, several times, all just fine.
Cleaned the glass
fiddled with temperatures, first layer heights, speeds, layer widths, extrusion speeds and distances, no help. I have tried every trick that I know.
This happens with eSun PLA, eSun PETG, Colorfab nGen (which is the most bullet-proof PLA I have ever used!)

I am unable to get a decent first layer. The S3D 90% height first layer does not squish. The CURA +50% first layer with extra filament does not squish. It is like it refuses to do what I tell it. My height is good (width of paper for layer 0), the hardware is not binding, rattling, shaking of skipping. Subsequent layers look poor, lots of stringing occurs, every problem I can imagine seems to be happening.
I am ready to scrap it and start over... So, if anyone has any ideas, I am out them, I'd appreciate it.