Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print quality varies with direction

Posted by Dardaq 
Print quality varies with direction
October 19, 2012 04:35PM
This very well may have been previously addressed, but I couldn't find anything on it. (Maybe I'm wording it weird.) Anyway, I've been printing for a few months now using the following:

1.75mm filament
budaschnozzle 1.1
Makerbot ABS
heated bed with kapton tape and hairspray as addl adhesive
Decent quality hobbed bolt & grooved idler bearing
print height anywhere from .05 to .3

Quality has been hit or miss in some situations however. It seems that I can get nice clean vertical faces of parts, but only when the print head is traveling in certain directions. For example, if I print an object with two faces oriented at 45 degrees from the x direction I get one face with nice quality and the other with rough surface. It appears that if the nozzle is moving in the positive x and positive y direction simultaneously, the quality suffers for some reason. On the other hand, if the nozzle travels the same 45 degree path in the opposite direction (negative x and negative y simultaneously) the quality of the surface is beautiful. Of course, this isn't limited to 45 degree paths specifically, but the problem appears when the direction is in that neighborhood. I'm having a little trouble getting the problem to show up in pictures - probably because I've been printing in black, I'll try to add some if I can get it to work.

Is it possible this could be an indication that the nozzle is not perfectly normal to the print surface? Any other ideas?
Re: Print quality varies with direction
October 22, 2012 04:12AM
I have noticed that when it is a normal Cartesian movement (all X or all Y) the print is usually fine with mine. BUT When using 2 axis at the same time I would have issues.

Here is some of the things I found that helped with my issue but not having a picture to look at I am just shooting in the dark.