Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Excess material at corners

Posted by GreyMark7650 
Excess material at corners
October 30, 2012 12:44PM
Hello All,

I'm new to 3d printing and have a problem that I can't find a solution to by searching the web and forums. When I print the test block (photo) there seems to be excess material at the corners (where it changes direction). It looks to me like it might be down to the extruder output not slowing down as the head does (just a guess).

I am using a prusa mendel with a 0.5mm J-head, I have the RAMPS 1.4 electronics running Merlin firmware and I'm trying to print using ABS.

I have tried various temperature settings for the heatbed and extruder as well as playing with the settings in both firmware and software (Slic3r) which have improved printing, but nothing I have found changes this material at the corners.

Any pointers as to where to look would be appreciated.

Regards,

MarkW
Attachments:
open | download - block.jpg (167.4 KB)
Re: Excess material at corners
October 30, 2012 01:23PM
From the side wall warping it looks like you are printing too hot. Print surface, bed temp, and extruder temp on this print? I'm running ABS at 220-230c with a bed temp of 110c directly on glass build platform.

Corner blobs can come from laying down too much material overall, or from too much retraction. When retracting too much, it causes a longer pause in the XY movement and the nozzle will actually ooze a bit at the retraction point. Retracting more actually won't eliminate the blobs.

I've found that when the extrusion flow rate is correct, that retraction doesn't need to be much more than 1mm.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 10/30/2012 01:27PM by Dirty Steve.
October 31, 2012 05:42AM
Hi,