Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

At wit's end. Terrible part quality

Posted by Kris@USD 
At wit's end. Terrible part quality
April 05, 2013 03:10PM
My parts are not coming out anything like I want them to. I've been playing with this for a couple of months now, and instead of improving the quality, things have only gotten worse.

Specs:
Printer: "Linear V2" Prusa from MakerFarm, with PCB heatbed
Filament: 3mm Black ABS from ultimachine. (0.35mm nozzle)
Electronics: RAMBo 1.1b w/ 24v power supply
Firmware: Marlin
Software: Slicer 0.9.9, Pronterface

I have attached some pictures showing some sample parts, as well as my slic3r config file.

It seems like it is a combination of issues. The layers are very inconsistent, and layer adhesion seems be quite poor. I've tried increasing the temperature of the nozzle, but this has had little effect, and increasing the temperature too much results in "droopy" parts, even with fans cooling the print area.

The latest few things I've tried: Switching from blue glow-in-the-dark ABS from Makerfarm to the Black ultimachine ABS. Switching from a 0.5mm nozzle to the 0.35. Tuning the PID settings in Marlin. Slowing down the print speed from 70mm/s to 40mm/s. Each of these things seemed to improve quality to a small degree, but ultimately the problem persists.

Any assistance would be appreciated.
Attachments:
open | download - config.forums.ini (2.8 KB)
open | download - IMG_20130405_114942.JPG (333.7 KB)
open | download - IMG_20130405_115509.JPG (340.6 KB)
open | download - IMG_20130405_115343.JPG (236 KB)
open | download - untitled.JPG (112.2 KB)
Re: At wit's end. Terrible part quality
April 05, 2013 03:20PM
Look like too much plastic, for starters. How did you calibrate your e steps per mm?
April 05, 2013 05:48PM
Using Triffid Hunter's calibration guide.