Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament crashes/stuck

Posted by Killi 
Filament crashes/stuck
June 07, 2013 05:01PM
Hi,

I'm new to 3d printing and have a Printrbot LC+ V2.
After complete calibration (reprap wiki tutorial) I used to print good things!
But sometimes the printer stops extruding. When I pull out the filament it looks like it couldn't melt for the speed it's going in.
Please see the attached file.

I've tried some options like higher temp/lower temp, rise the noozle of the bed a little bit and after each crash: clean the silver bearing (I don't know what it's called in english) which feeds the filament in.
Then I printed a filemant guide - I thought this really helped a lot!

But now - again and again...it will stuck inside! What am I doing wrong? I'm printing with the original PLA from the Printrbot team at 185° (then tried 190, 195 and 200....every time the same).

Sometimes it prints ok, nothing happened and then - if you feel save: bam! Stucked.... :-( that doesn't make fun :-(

Please help, I don't know what's the actual problem...

Edit: sometimes I hear it "cracking" in the extruder...I don't know if that is because it is stucking or because of water or air in the PLA...?!

Software: Repetier-Host V0.84 with Slicer in 0.9.8
Nozzle: 0.3mm
First Layer: 0.28
Other Layers: 0.3
Maximum speed: 40mm/s

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/07/2013 05:34PM by Killi.
Attachments:
open | download - filament.jpg (331.3 KB)
Re: Filament crashes/stuck
June 07, 2013 07:19PM
Not sure, but I think you need to have a fan cooling the upper part of your hotend, your filament is melting before it gets into the specified 'melt zone'.
June 07, 2013 08:09PM
Hi,

the upper part? I have a fan on my printer...but I thought it is good that it melts on that stage (better early than too late). I thought it can't melt so fast how the bolt is putting in more filament.