Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hotend and Heated Bed Temps dropping while printing

Posted by Hawkeye0914 
Hotend and Heated Bed Temps dropping while printing
October 30, 2013 01:09AM
Hello everyone. I am brand new to 3D printing and just finished my MakerFarm I3 a few days ago. I am running into a problem where the temperatures of both my print board and the hot end are dropping while printing. While sitting still, both temperatures stay at the set temp. I am using a 12v 18amp ATX power supply. Everything was working fine until a few print attempts ago.

Any ideas?
Re: Hotend and Heated Bed Temps dropping while printing
October 30, 2013 06:59PM
My first thought is that if you're using a single power supply, it may not be able to handle the load of both heaters and your motors, etc.
October 30, 2013 07:01PM
Yeah Im thinking of going to the 30A power suppply and see what that does. I disconnected the fan on the extruder, and that seems to help a lot with keeping the temp in the right spot.
October 31, 2013 09:40AM
I hadn't thought about the fan. I've played around with cooling a little bit and have found that the bed is fairly sensitive to fans. My nozzle isn't bothered as much.
November 06, 2013 03:06PM
I had this problem when I started out with the same setup. It turned out that my no-name 400W ATX power supply was SUPPOSED to be supplying 20A on two separate 12V rails but was not. I switched to a $50 500W Antec which seems to be performing as rated. Punchline: generic power supply manufacturers may lie about their current rating.

Also make sure you're using BOTH 12V rails. Usually there is a high-current 4-connector Molex for a separate high-current 12V connection on a graphics card, which is (often) a separate rail from the 12V supply to hard drives and DVD drives. Some power supplies tell you which connectors are on which rails but they should generally follow that convention.