Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa i3 bad bottom and top layers

Posted by sidhabo 
Prusa i3 bad bottom and top layers
May 25, 2014 02:25PM
Trying to get some decent quality out of my Prusa i3 .... not doing so good so far, still lot to learn.
I'm testing with printout of dice , comes out size about 20x20x20 mm
a) bottom layers get like a bit collapsed , see pic 002 , the bottom there is to the right side
b) top layers get not totally filled up, see pic 004
Been trying to lower bed temp from 110 Celsius down to 90 , at 90 it start failing to get first layers to attach ... so I went back to 110
Any ideas make me happy

www.sidhabo.org/div2/graydice.zip

Ha det gött
Bosse

Prusa i3 Reworked, Delivered March 28 2014, RAMPS 1.4
Göteborg, Sweden
Re: Prusa i3 bad bottom and top layers
May 25, 2014 03:06PM
I'm really not an expert, but it looks like on the lower layers the printer is pushing too much plastic, so it becomes somewhat wider.

I'd try 2 things:
1. Try to print a walled cube - just 4 walls - you'll get to see the bottom anomaly better (if there is one).
2. Try to print with a raft. This way the anomaly might be all in the raft (but usually a raft is only 2 lays or so).

Regardin the top part: What software did you use to slice this cube? Did you try to view the gcode to see if it's reasonable?
Usually you should get diagonal lines at the top. Even if you're not using enough plastic, there would be gaps between the
diagonal lines, not the kind of mess shown in your picture.

HTH.
May 25, 2014 03:34PM
Thanks for info Barakori
1 Do you know where i can download stl file for walled cube ? I don't do 3D design myself ...
2 Hm, is that something you have to add in 3D design , the raft ?
I'm using Repetier V0.95F with integrated Slic3r ... so Repetier is providing most basic settings.
I have just tried some change heated bed temp and turned off the auto fan. + using Z offset to get best distance for first layer.