Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ragged first layer

Posted by Ted62 
Ragged first layer
September 02, 2014 08:01AM
This is my second attempt at posting so if there is another earlier post please accept my apologies when I tried to attach the photos everything disappeared .

Previously no problems printing. But I have developed a problem which I have tried all I know to solve to no avail.

When printing the first layer, the perimeters print correctly with good adhesion to the bed. However, the infil of the first layer is jagged and very rough with peaks and troughs. The following layers print OK. I have been printing for a couple of years having built a Printrbot and Ord bot so I would not consider myself to be a complete novice.

Currently using the ord bot with the printrboard from the printrbot.

So far I have tried:
Using different filaments from several suppliers - some better than others, but all pretty poor.
Changing print speed in 5mm steps 25 -10mm/sec - no improvements
Changing temperature from 175 -220 at bellow 200 failed to adhere to bed. - no improvement
Changed % line width from 75% - 125% in 5 % increments - no improvement
Changed the nozzle height from touching to 0.15mm in 0.05 increments - failed to adhere to bed at 0.15mm - no improvement
Changed bed temperature from ambient to 40 degree in 10 degree increments - no improvement
Tried blue printer tape - no improvement
Tried Kapton and heated bed at 65 degree -no improvement

My setup is:
Ord bot printer
E£D V6 hot end
All metal Kossel Bowden extruder drive
Glass bed with vinyl carbon fibre cover
Bed is level to better than 0.05mm (Checked with a DTI)
Belt checked and tight.
Print speed 40mm/sec
Acceleration X, Y, 3000, Z 20, E2000
XY jerk 15
Retraction 3mm 3000

Alibre - for modelling
Cura 14.07 for slicing and printing although I have also tried Slic3r, Pronterfaces and Repetier-Host all with similar results.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments: