Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

old burnt filament extruding long after filament change

Posted by Dripfree 
old burnt filament extruding long after filament change
March 30, 2015 11:59PM
Hi I'm new to 3d printing and even newer to the forums so I apologize if this question has been answered. I found nothing with a quick google and a search of the forum. So far I've had pretty good luck with my first prints. I'm running a 10" makerfarm with hexagon hot end and printing mostly abs. Tonight I switched from orange abs to clear. I ran the extruder till it ran clear and started my print. Looked great for the first half hour then black burnt filament started extruding. At first I thought it was burning the clear filament but with a closer inspection this crud was orange. It weird cuz at this point my print was about 8mm tall on the bed. Why would it take so long to clear? I was having some layer separation issues so I have been printing at 240 to 250 degrees. I know that's kinda hot but it seems to have worked in solving my layer separation. Could It be the cause of this new problem? Any insight would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

Dripfree
Re: old burnt filament extruding long after filament change
March 31, 2015 12:24AM
Most likely came from the hobbed bolt of your extruder, make the habit of cleaning it once in a while, specially when changing from solid colors to clear ones.

Your delamination problems are related to open frame printers and cold drafts hitting the hot printed part, increasing the temperature helps keeping the part warmer, also 250 is still within the limits so you are OK.
March 31, 2015 12:50AM
ggherbaz
Most likely came from the hobbed bolt of your extruder, make the habit of cleaning it once in a while, specially when changing from solid colors to clear ones.