Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What should the external temperature of E3D hot end be?

Posted by rtrahms 
What should the external temperature of E3D hot end be?
May 10, 2015 02:53AM
Hi all -
I have a RUMBA controller (Marlin firmware) on a Mendel90 printer, with an upgraded E3D V6 hotend. I was having some jamming-like problems printing with ABS, but my hot end thermistor (via Repetier) is reporting adequate temperatures for ABS (215-220 deg C). When I point an IR thermometer at the hot end, I get a temperature that is much lower - not 220, but more like 130 deg C. This seems low, but I figured most heat is inside the hot end where the thermistor is. Anyone know a good rule of thumb to use in determining the true internal temp from the external (IR) temperature? O also considered the firmware setting for the thermistor, which may be a factor.
Thanks
Rob
Re: What should the external temperature of E3D hot end be?
May 10, 2015 04:43AM
Hello Rob,

Did you set the marlin firmware for the correct thermistor with the correct beta value?
May 10, 2015 07:39AM
It's difficult to get accurate temperature measurements of small objects with an IR thermometer. If you're uncertain of the accuracy of your thermistor, why not take it out of the hot end and use it to measure a couple of knowns, like melting ice and boiling water. If it can report those accurately then you can assume it's giving you a good value for the interior of the hot end. Or you can get a K-type digital thermometer for about $10 that will give you accurate point-contact measurements.
May 10, 2015 09:48AM
Kafledelius -
Yes, my first working theory is that the firmware is wrong. This thermistor came with the hotend as part of a kit I purchased on EBay, and is the following:

Item:NTC Thermistor
Model:B2-100-3950-1
R @ 25: K 100K-1%
B25/50:K 3950-1%
Element:Thermistor,type MJB2

I found this discussion on the forums for someone who had the same problem:
[forums.reprap.org]