Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How can I print this object?

Posted by muntahunta 
How can I print this object?
August 17, 2015 02:06PM
I have tried multiple placements of these objects and I can't figure out the best way to print these files.
So far it is printing in two parts (The base and the "stem" with the logo on.

but even with support (i am using cura) the logo itself keeps snapping off before the print is finished.
the base is simple
the stem... is 50% success rate, but the logo itself falls off around 10 layers in.

Any advice would be appreciated, Im new to printing and printing thin products is fairly hard!
Attachments:
open | download - batmanblergh.jpg (350.9 KB)
Re: How can I print this object?
August 17, 2015 04:56PM
Are you printing this in ABS ?

If so, you can split the print into different sections, rotate each part to get the best strength for each part, and then join the final parts together with acetone. It really does stick really really well.

You can add a small pin / hole where the parts join to make alignment for glueing easier.

On the same note, I also found that ABS sticks very easily to good old PVC plumbers pipe / conduit using the same method.

Worked really well a few days back when I needed two parts to join with a 50mm pipe / tube between them. Printed the male thread and attached to one part, and then printed the female thread to fit inside the 50mm PVC pipe. Inserted and a few drops of acetone in the tight fit gap and within 2 hours they were inseperable.
August 17, 2015 05:26PM
not a bad thought, im already using the acetone vapour trick to smooth out my ABS prints.
Im printing in two parts as you can see. How long does acetone take to melt then dry the ABS? just that with the model im making, I have gravity against me when glueing.
August 17, 2015 05:45PM
Use play-dough or something similar to hold pieces in position while the ABS 'sets'