Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

how to driving a solenoid needle valve on wax printing head

Posted by dialman 
how to driving a solenoid needle valve on wax printing head
August 25, 2015 01:28PM
I am building a wax printing head to enable me to print jewellery for lost wax printing. I have tried to make the solenoid valve open and close using the stepper driver for the plastic feed on the extruder. I am running ramp4. Not being an electronics engineer I am at a loss how to drive the needle valve that will open and close the nozzle. I have also got compressed air connected to the print headto spray the wax out. It is a system that I have used before in mechanical engineering to spray wax onto sheet metal and am trying to adapt the consept to spray/build up wax models. I am connecting the stepper driver using one paired set of wires from the ramps .
Re: how to driving a solenoid needle valve on wax printing head
August 26, 2015 12:38AM
You could use the direction pin of the stepper driver to control a relais or MOSFET.
The solenoid will need a spring to close the valve when powered off.

For fast on/off moves you better use the MOSFet.
-Olaf
August 26, 2015 11:37AM
Thanks for that, have picked up a mosfet and will try it tomorrow.
August 27, 2015 03:07AM
If the direction pin logic is inverted you can invert the extruder stepper in firmware.

Make sure you have set retraction to a very low threshold in the slicer to make sure the direction pin changes at the end of a track.
-Olaf
August 28, 2015 09:27PM
Do you already have a valve that you are trying to mechanize (pics are always nice)? If so hooking a stepper up to it with an endstop for it home like x y and z would be logical. You could also peek into other kinds of drivers systems, like what normally would work the valve?

Master Tinkerer
August 31, 2015 08:57AM