Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Sloppy edges on vertical surfaces Prusa I3

Posted by Ralphy 
Sloppy edges on vertical surfaces Prusa I3
November 01, 2015 11:00PM
I've been having this issue when printing and I appreciate any insight on reducing this stringing. Ive lowered temps down to 184 for the PLA and the external perimeter speeds are at 50%.

The flat parts print out fine (2nd pic) but the vertical surfaces (1st pic) are the issue
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_20151101_224633.JPG (276.2 KB)
open | download - IMG_20151101_225731.JPG (216 KB)
Re: Sloppy edges on vertical surfaces Prusa I3
November 02, 2015 03:04AM
Well, if you do torture tests with your printer you have set the retraction perfectly, same for the extrusion by the way.
Try it on a solid object and adjust the retraction until you neither get blobs where a line begins, nor missing bits.
November 05, 2015 05:33PM
Ok thanks but i'm new to this. When you say torture test I dont understand what you mean. Is there a video or tutorial i can watch that explains the calibration of the retraction and extrusion rate?
November 05, 2015 08:45PM
Ok, you are new to it, that explains the problem you are facing smiling smiley
This object is not really for the beginner, more for a really well calibrated printer with properly working retraction.
Don't know of any good vidieos to check but there are plenty of calibration pieces available on Thingiverse for example.
You will need good calipers, best the digital kind, to measure your actual movement.
Guides for this are available here in the forum.
If the mechanical part for the axis is fine you check the extrusion with the calipers and from there it is finetuning in the slicer.
Of course if some steppings for a motor are not 100% and you adjust them it is smart to flash a firmware with these settings or to at least store the values in the EEPROM settings.
December 03, 2015 04:55PM