Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hot end rubbing over print

Posted by Mtheuma 
Hot end rubbing over print
November 12, 2015 02:15PM
Hi iv just started printing. Well just set up my printer. I have the pursa i3. I have yet to complete a print. When I start printing the print gets to 3 or 4 mm and then the hot end starts to run over the print as in make contact with the print and then keep printing but not get any higher. After that happens I cancel the print so I don't mess up my printer. Does anyone have advice for me or know of any settings I can change. Please note I am very new to this awesome hobby. Thanks
Re: Hot end rubbing over print
November 12, 2015 04:20PM
Start by checking the calibration of the mechanics.
November 12, 2015 11:34PM
Mtheuma
Its exciting to have it doing stuff...

keeps printing but not get any higher.

What you are describing sounds like the z axis steppers are loosing steps.
Watch closely when there is a layer change to see if they are moving.

Make sure the z movement is smooth, not hanging up.

It could be that the stepper current is too high (causing the stepper driver(s) to overheat and do a short reset) - turn them down and/or add a cooling fan/heat syncs. Symptoms could be: motor(s) get hot (won't hurt them unless very hot tho), or driver chips burning hot (careful). Be careful not to disconnect any wires or short anything, and adjust carefully with a ceramic screwdriver. There are many, many threads here on adjusting stepper current.

Or the current could be too low - causing too little torque.

Or... it is actually moving up but you are over extruding?

My printer: Raptosaur - Large Format Delta - [www.paulwanamaker.wordpress.com]
Can you answer questions about Calibration, Printing issues, Mechanics? Write it up and improve the Wiki!
November 13, 2015 12:18AM
Are you printing from a PC console UI application such as Pronterface, or from SD Card and a graphics controller?