Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Ripples on X and Y axis

Posted by jsaiko 
Ripples on X and Y axis
November 24, 2015 08:47PM
Hello,

I am new to 3d printing and am not sure I know the correct terms to find the answer to my issue via google. I printed a test object that came with the printer and noticed ripples/lines on the sides of the print. I just now printed out a calibration cube that I downloaded from thingiverse and it also has the lines as well. Can someone please guide me in the right direction as to what might be causing this?

Thank you in advance,

Jsaiko
Attachments:
open | download - cube.jpg (128.8 KB)
Re: Ripples on X and Y axis
November 24, 2015 09:24PM
It's called "Z banding". Search on that term to find causes and solutions.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
November 24, 2015 09:30PM
Thank you so much!
November 25, 2015 06:44PM
Hi Jsaiko, welcome to the forum smiling smiley

There's a very useful visual guide to common printing problems at the following link:

[support.3dverkstan.se]

[edit]Hmm, think I was actually thinking of this one: [www.simplify3d.com]

Regards,
James

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 11/25/2015 06:47PM by JamesK.
November 25, 2015 06:57PM
Thanks for the guides James!

Just as a follow up, the problem appears to be bent Z axis rods. I ordered new 8mm, 2mm pitched threaded rods and will attempt to convert my kit over to them. Just not sure how I am going to be able to print the conversion parts with this Z ribbing as bad as it is. I'm confident I will be able to modify the firmware and everything else though.
November 25, 2015 07:24PM
Before you make those changes, I'd try this mod:
anti z wobble thing