Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heatbed cannot reach 110*C

Posted by RunWreckRi0t 
Heatbed cannot reach 110*C
December 13, 2015 02:59PM
I'm pretty new to printing. I purchased a Zonestar P802M variant from aliexpress. I cannot get the heatbed up to 110 no matter what I do. Using the factory firmware (repetier 0.91) I could not get to 110, and using 0.92 that i'm running now I couldn't get there either. It decouples after a couple of hours and never passes 100*C. It takes about an hour just to get to 100*C which seems extremely slow from what i've read.

I am using an aluminum plate (~3mm?) on top of a MK2 heater. I've replaced the power supply with a rewired/soldered 650w atx supply. I've change the power cables and wires going to the heatbed to a super overkill 10g stranded copper. I added a 7mm cardboard underneath my heatbed for insulation. The voltage off the power supply is ~11.78v and when the heatbed is heating it drops to ~11.65v. At the heatbed it's ~11.56v when it's heating. Is that sufficient power? I don't really know what else to try at this point other than just buying a new heatbed.

I'm open to any suggestions. Thank you.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/13/2015 03:00PM by RunWreckRi0t.
Attachments:
open | download - IMG_20151213_134201b.jpg (551.8 KB)
Re: Heatbed cannot reach 110*C
December 13, 2015 03:59PM
The voltage drops seem to be OK.
Do you have a dual power MK2 heatbed suitable for 12 and 24V?
You probably have three solderpads underneath and only used two?
Then the bed would only heat with half the traces.
-Olaf
December 13, 2015 04:30PM
No mine doesn't. This is the exact one I have, the joints are pretty well soldered also.

MK2B Heatbed
December 13, 2015 05:26PM
Here is an interesting article on the differences of heated beds:
http://www.sd3d.com/not-all-heated-beds-are-created-equal/
I was never a fan of them to start with and usually fail to understand why you would need more than 100°C for a print bed.