Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Print improvement

Posted by rich1812 
Print improvement
December 15, 2015 10:15AM
Hello, I have been 3D print for some time now. By no mean I am an expert. I have just printed this object (in pics) I have never printed something this big and odd in shape, it took a wooly 10 hours!!!! And I wasn't sure it will come out ok, as a result, it didn't come out too badly but messy, tho need a lot of cleaning tho!
I am seeking for advice in how to shorten the print time without reduce the rigidity and how to reduce the messiness and any suggestion on how to make it better in general. Thank you vin advance

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 12/15/2015 10:41AM by rich1812.
Attachments:
open | download - unnamed-1.jpg (32.5 KB)
open | download - unnamed-2.jpg (34.8 KB)
open | download - unnamed.jpg (30.3 KB)
open | download - finePrint5.ini (3.2 KB)
Re: Print improvement
December 15, 2015 02:53PM
Well, if there is one thing working then it would be bridging LOL
The surface looks quite rough, might be too high in temp.
And the strings are a result of the retraction not being set properly.
With the settings correctly the part should come out clean and with little to no need of cleaning up.
December 16, 2015 07:47AM
Downunder35m
Well, if there is one thing working then it would be bridging LOL
The surface looks quite rough, might be too high in temp.
And the strings are a result of the retraction not being set properly.
With the settings correctly the part should come out clean and with little to no need of cleaning up.

Thank you for the reply.

Considering initially I didn't think it could be done at all, I thought the whole thing would collapse and cave in during printing. LOL.
You are probably right about the temperature. I just printed the second half of the helmet in a lower temp. It has much fewer "spider
web"
December 16, 2015 09:20AM
Once you got some experience it often comes down to look and feel.