Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing with Pronterface compared to straight from SD card?

Posted by BuildAThing 
Printing with Pronterface compared to straight from SD card?
February 03, 2016 04:08PM
I am new to 3D printing but I have been doing a lot of studying. I recently bought a MakerFront RepRap Prusa i3 PRO and I have made several good prints with it. Yesterday I printed from an SD card for the first time using a RepRap LCD display an SD card reader that I added to the printer. The print came out horrible and looked very much under extruded.

I was printing with yellow PLA filament that I had been using with good success the day before. In both cases I used Cura software to create the G code. The print came out nicely running from Pronterface and my Windows computer. But it came out horribly using my SD card and the RepRap display interface.

I checked to make sure the bed was level and I don't believe that I changed any settings or temperatures to effect the print. So I think that maybe the Marlin software is controlled differently from Pronterface than from an SD card.

Can anybody tell me what to look for, or how to make my corrections for using an SD? I'm aware you can tune from the LCD screen but I thought that the G code controlled extrusion, retraction, and temperatures.

Any ideas would be appreciated,
Mark
Re: Printing with Pronterface compared to straight from SD card?
February 03, 2016 04:21PM
What were the slicer settings you used?

There are very few differences between using host software and using SD cards, except that the SD cards will be more reliable.
One difference is that people who use host software often slice with temperatures set to 0, then use the host software to set the temperatures at print time. You can do the same with the LCD/encoder/SD card interface, but you have to remember to set the temperatures.