Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

New to ABS - Filament Slips After Printing 20-30min

Posted by gebelke 
New to ABS - Filament Slips After Printing 20-30min
February 09, 2016 07:42AM
I am new to printing ABS but have printed about 5kg of PLA with excellent results (at 60mm/s). I am printing Orange Hatchbox 1.75mm ABS on my Frankenmax (design was based on MendelMax 2, but lots of design changes by myself in CAD to improve performance and now 90% aluminum) inside of an insulated enclosure (~0.5m x 0.5m x 0.75m, 1" with extruded polystyrene sides ). I have no problems with the filament sticking to the glass coated with a bit of glue stick, which starts at 86degC and drops to 80degC on the 2nd layer. The enclosure will get up to 50degC with only the bed at 90degC for ~45min.

My problem arises when I print for longer than 15-20min. The best way to describe it is that the filament gets soft and strips on the Mk8 extruder gear. The only way for it to continue printing is to increase tension.

I recently changed out the extruder from a spring tensioner to a bolt/o-ring, extruded and tightened the bolt until it started extruding, then gave it another 1 full revolution tighter. The reason for this change was the spring was not strong enough to reliably extrude without slipping, so I wanted to switch to something that could have more tension on it and rule that out. The extruder is a direct drive Makerbot 2 roller/lever/base system. The nozzle is an E3D (with 30mm heatsink cooling fan) and two nights ago, I took out the PTFE liner in the heat break to inspect it and it was perfectly fine, no restrictions on ID, or melted plastic remaining. I performed a few atomic pulls and they all came out with a great shape, with sharp nozzle and about 1.5mm worth of 0.4mm diameter filament.