Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stratifications around prints.

Posted by Lymphomaniac1 
Stratifications around prints.
February 10, 2016 12:58AM
I am a beginner to the world of 3D printing. I have a cheap DIY Reprap Prusa I3 made with a wooden frame. I use Slic3r as my slicing software. I have tried Cura, but it has a tendency to terminate my print prematurely.

My problem is that when I try to print, my prints have stratifications all around them. This makes my prints look ugly and reduces the detail on the prints. Attached is a photograph of a print I made (see attached file “DSC_0423.jpg”). This was a test print of Alien Chestburster Halloween prop by Geoffro, published Oct 14, 2014 on Thingiverse (see attached “Alien Chestburster Halloween prop.jpg“). I had the same problem with some parts I printed and put together where the walls were slightly too wide and the holes were slightly too small. I guess that my problem is that I am over-extruding, but I cannot figure out how to fix this with Slic3r. Can somebody please give me some help with this?

Thanx,

Stuart

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/10/2016 12:59AM by Lymphomaniac1.
Attachments:
open | download - Alien Chestburster Halloween prop.jpg (20.7 KB)
open | download - DSC_0423.jpg (330.5 KB)
Re: Stratifications around prints.
February 10, 2016 03:50AM
Looks like a cyclic error on your extruder. Possibly the drive gear is slipping in certain parts of the model, or the gear is not concentric with the shaft.
February 10, 2016 07:26AM
Looks like Z wobble, possibly combined with over extrusion, to me. Lemme guess, Prusa I3?

See: [www.evernote.com]

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
February 10, 2016 08:39PM
the_digital_dentist
Looks like Z wobble, possibly combined with over extrusion, to me. Lemme guess, Prusa I3?

See: [www.evernote.com]