Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Prusa i3 Not Extruding Filament

Posted by Finkswitch 
Prusa i3 Not Extruding Filament
March 20, 2016 04:49PM
So I just finished building my Prusa i3 today. There's a lot of sweat and tears and repeated assembly involved, but it seems to be working, until I try to actually print something. I'm using a gcode file from Slic3r on an SD card, and printing from that, since the printer presently isn't close to a computer. It seems to print fine, but it doesn't actually extrude any filament. It seems like instead of pulling filament into the nozzle, it's pulling it out. If I try to manually extrude using the LCD menu, it extrudes just fine. I'm at a bit of a loss here, and I'm very new to this, so rather out of my depth. Any help or advice as to what I could try would be fantastic!

-Finkswitch
Re: Prusa i3 Not Extruding Filament
March 20, 2016 09:17PM
finkswitch;

It sounds like your stepper motor is running in the wrong direction . I dont know what board you are using but you should be able to just flip the extruder stepper motor connector 180 degrees
That should reverse the motor direction.
If it is pushing out plastic manually , its a good chance reversing the motor will solve your problem.
March 22, 2016 10:53PM
So, I removed the heat sink and fan, and ran the printer through a print without any filament so I could see if it's actually turning in the right way, and it looks like it is. I'm sort of at a loss now as to what could be the issue. The throat broke while I was disassembling it, so I've ordered a new one. I'm going to put that back on and hope for the best! Any suggestions as to what else I could do to try it? The motor did seem to occasionally pull back, but I suspect that's just when it needs to stop extruding. The teflon tube in the throat also looked a little singed and browned, so I'm hoping it's something with that... I should get the new throat soon, so I'll update once I've run a test with the new one.