X axis measurement prints compressed
April 12, 2016 04:28PM
Hello all, I will post pictures later, and before I begin, my technical terms are not that on par, I am a South African architecture student and inventer, and I just built my reprap prusa I3.

I still have one or two issues with my nozzle clogging up but thats not the problem...This evening I printed three test objects and noticed a problem, on slic3r and pronterface my object's measurements are correct, but when I printed it, the x axis measurement is compressed by n factor of +- 0.8mm.

I checked everything, my x axis motor runs normally, the belt doesn't slip or anything, I checked all the screws, I just can't figure it out. The Y and Z axis measurements are correct, its just the x axis...

I have scaled a object now and I am going to print it tomorrow, but how can I fix it? Tomorrow I am going to print a object just as a preview for a client, but I would really like to fix this problem. And I talked to the company who sold it to me, but the guy is a ass, he thinks that the only people who buys a 3D printer are people who are profesional in programming and such, I am a very tallented designer and I do know how to work with electronics, but he can't help me, so please, what can I do?

And if anyone could tell me a easy way to clean the nozzle it would be nice...
Re: X axis measurement prints compressed
April 12, 2016 04:40PM
Have you calibrated the printer? Normally you print an object of a specific size, such as 100 mm, then measure it. If it isn't the intended size, you change the steps/mm for that axis in the firmware. You want to calibrate the extruder first, then calibrate the rest of the machine. See Triffid Hunter's calibration guide on the reprap wiki for details.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
April 12, 2016 05:10PM