Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ZIG ZAG PRINTS! HELP

Posted by Omniaa 
ZIG ZAG PRINTS! HELP
July 20, 2016 08:25AM
hey everyone,
I am new to this 3D printing community, i have made my first PLA 3d printer. I cant find my problem on the internet and its really weird. When i try to print a rectangle (or any shape for that matter), layers are getting shifted at periodic intervals. it's forming wavy structure when it should be straight!! I am using Repetier Host and Repetier Firmware. I directly print from the SD card on the Full graphic smart controller (reprap discount). NO sticking issues. And i dont think it can be a belt slipping problem, this is clear i guess from the pictures i have attached, the print is leaning to say left side for some layers and then leaning right for some layers, and the whole pattern is being repeated throughout the object height. All the objects have the same wavy feature. there is no such wavy feature in the stl file. I have printed a hollow calibration cube of 20mm but it has shown same wavy patterns at same height. PLEASE HELP! Thanks

It was supposed to be rectangle of 25x15x30..:

A spiro coaster i printed, since height of object is less, wavy nature is not prominent other than edges

Re: ZIG ZAG PRINTS! HELP
July 20, 2016 08:09PM
I don't think it will be a bended Z axis neither, most likely is on the steppers (if you are absolutely sure isn't the belts), have you check the vref on your stepper driver? Also what speed are you trying to print at?

Do a little test and increase non printing speed at 3600 to 4000 mm per min and move X and Y about 100mm on any direction, see if the stepper skips or if it makes any noises, check that it traveled the correct distance. One more thing that it can be is that your carriages are binding due to asymmetrical rods.
July 20, 2016 08:24PM
Check that the pulleys are tightly attached to the stepper motors.