Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Heated head Thermal Runaway *Fixed

Posted by Horatius 
Heated head Thermal Runaway *Fixed
October 02, 2016 08:32PM
I am fairly new at 3d printing and this is my first post ever. I looked around all over google and forum and didn't find anything that look like my problem. So here it is, I just finish building my first 3d printer, a delta model based on this DIY instruction (http://www.instructables.com/id/3d-Home-Printer-With-Arduino/).
Everything is working fine but one thing. When i print something the heated head get to the right temperature and stabilize. But after about a minute (time vary slightly from one test to the next) the temperature of the heated head runaway ! All the way to the MAXTEMP and the printer stop printing. And i have to turn the power off to stop it from heating. Then when i start it back everything goes back to normal. One more thing on that is that if i manually set the temperature, the printer reach that temperature with no problem and keep it steady at +-1C from the set temp. And the thermistor show accurate reading all the time so i don't think there is an issue with it

Here is some more information on this. When i connect a multimeter in parallel with the heated head it show the normal amount of voltage that the board is providing but when the temp reach the MAXTEMP limit the multimeter keep showing a constant voltage of 12V after the limit is reach meaning that the temp keep going up until i power it off.

My board is a ramp1.4 running Marlin 1.1.0 RC7 but i previously had Marlin 1.0.3 with the same issue.
I tried running the print directly from an SDcard with the same result so its not the software.
My PID setting are all properly calibrated from the PID_Tuning web page
Tried changing the PID_MAX with no change
Tried turning the PID off and go with BangMax with the same result