Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder making load noise and is not turning

Posted by djlapan 
Extruder making load noise and is not turning
February 22, 2017 10:49PM
First, I just want to say that I am new to 3D printing. I am in the final steps of building a core xy printer. The only thing left is the extruder calibration, but for that to work the extruder needs to turn when the hotend is on. I have tested the extruder motor on different connections(x and y). What am I missing?

Any help would be great.
Re: Extruder making load noise and is not turning
February 23, 2017 02:54AM
The colors of the stepper wires are not standardized, so you might be unlucky and have to find out which wires are connected. There should be two sets ( if you have a 4 wire harness ) with continuity. These are coils A & B. Now sort the wires so they match the pinout on the controller: 1A,2A,2B,1B.

When the stepper only hums instead of running, switch two wires. Either from coil A or coil B.

Don't worry you can't break anything, unless you crank up the Vref (motor current ) to high.
February 23, 2017 04:49AM
If the motor is working if you plug it into either the X or Y connectors, then i would say the wires are the right way round.
Check you have the right steps/mm set for extruder in eeprom, check extruder speed is not set too high.
Extruder will not turn unless the hot end is above 175 degrees or you have enabled cold extrusion.
February 23, 2017 05:40AM
The motor is working when I plug it into either the X or Y connectors. I've have the hot end headed up to 200 degrees C for testing the extruder and when I go to test the extruder I get a loud noise whenever I go to extrude. The only thing that I see that might be to high is the Extr. 1 acceleration, it is at 5000 mm/s^2. I've attached a screen shot of my eeprom settings for the extruder.
Attachments:
open | download - 2017-02-23 05_29_05-Firmware EEPROM Settings.png (16.1 KB)
February 23, 2017 08:54AM