Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

ABS infill issue

Posted by h4nc 
ABS infill issue
April 09, 2017 08:18AM
Hi,

I'm still new to printing with ABS and have problems with the infill (picture attached) and even bridges.

It seems that the first infill layer doesn't adhere good enough to the layer below. This creates small gaps and the next infill layer does not build up as it should, because of the gap below and the bad bridging behavior.

Can someone help?
Attachments:
open | download - Unbenannt.PNG (306 KB)
Re: ABS infill issue
April 09, 2017 08:38AM
You're slicing with Cura, I guess? I had similar problems when the infill was very low. Try these:

print a few degrees colder
print faster infill
increase infill to 30% (maybe 25% is enough)
April 09, 2017 09:58AM
I'm sicing with Slic3r.

I had these problems with high ifill percentage (30%) too.

I'll try faster infill and a lower temperture. Thanks!
April 09, 2017 10:05AM
Looks like rectangular infill. Slic3r does hex infill by default. This is slower and very noisy, but more solid. The rectangular infill I know from Cura likes to collapse if there's too much air between the lines, that's why I assumed Cura. What's the size of the Z cube? Looks like 20mm, and then the infill looks like 15% - only guessing by the pic.
April 09, 2017 10:08AM
good guess winking smiley

rectangular, 20mm cube, 10% infill.

Now I will try it with honeycomb, 25%
April 09, 2017 02:23PM
The 25% does not show the problem good in a picture so I did one with 15% (honeycomb). See picture.

If you look close enough you can see stringing between the intersection. It looks like there is to less material. This also effects briding.

I want to print the digital sun dial but the details are not possible. [www.thingiverse.com]
Attachments:
open | download - Unbenannt.PNG (314.8 KB)
April 11, 2017 03:19AM
Your cube looks quite good, I don't se (much) stringing. Maybe you can doo a higher res pic?