Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

First Layer Settings

Posted by hobbymods 
First Layer Settings
June 25, 2017 03:54AM
I'm really getting into fine tuning my printer, which is a Duet wifi converted Zortrax M200, with a Printbite surface on the build plate.

This thread is not about surface adhesion, I'm not having a problem there at all.

My problem is that I just can't quite nail down the right level of solid infill on the first layer.

I don't claim to be the guru, but I am not a beginner and have gone through all the practical steps methodically....leveled bed thoroughly at operating temp with a feeler gauge, set nozzle height, run bed compensation, extrusion test/set esteps every new roll of material and then checked extrusion further by printing double thin walled squares and measuring the thickness. I tend to then take that extrusion multiplier up just a tad so if anything I'm extruding slightly over rather than under.

The problem I'm having is that the first layer lines are open as if under extruded, but if I up the extrusion it stuffs the hell out of the top layers.

This is worst with ABS, slightly evident with PLA and not happening with PETG. All at 0.2mm layer height, 90% first layer height and 100% first layer width.

I'm new to S3D, but again have tried to be methodical.

I started by increasing the layer width, which a reasonable person would assume would "increase the layer width" and therefore fix the problem. But no, it also increases the gap between the lines and therefore doesn't help, at least not by itself. I actually think this is a really dumb feature, as if it just affected the width and not the gap between the lines it would be so easy to dial it in to perfection. Of course I could be missing something, I'm not perfect.

I've tried dropping the first layer height down to 50%, also not really seeing an obvious change.

I've tried slowing it right down, which doesn't hurt but adhesion wasn't the issue.