Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Where to start with problem solving...?

Posted by ampapa 
Where to start with problem solving...?
May 31, 2018 07:27AM
I needed to print some switch brackets for my CNC and so I pulled out my corexy printer zero'd up the axis and got to printing but I have some issues and don't really know what the best course of action is to resolve them and where to begin.

I used S3D for this print printing PLA at 185, .4 nozzle, .25 layer height, 2300 retraction speed, .95 Extrusion multiplier, 17% infill, 3600 print speed.

Since I'm pretty new to 3D printing I'm not 100% what I'm seeing but I see stringiness between moves, under extrusion on top/bottom layers or gaps?, poor definition.

Striginess 1
Striginess 2

Where to start??

ampapa,
Re: Where to start with problem solving...?
May 31, 2018 09:00AM
First it looks over extruded. Calibrate the extruder.
Stringiness is a function of temperature and filament, and is minimized for most materials by making adjustments to temperature and turning on (and tuning) retraction.
Materials like TPU and PETG are just inherently stringy and you deal with it by cleaning up the prints after they are done.

Ultra MegaMax Dominator 3D printer: [drmrehorst.blogspot.com]
May 31, 2018 09:25AM
@thedigitaldentist it looks to me like the top layer(s) has gaps is that a function of under extrusion, that 3rd picture has a good look at it... is it possibly to have both in the same print?

Also, any ideas about the detail and how to sharpen it up? I assume that is a function of the layer height?

ampapa,
May 31, 2018 09:35AM
The gaps you see in the third image are due to backlash in the XY mechanism. Notice that the gaps occur between every other line. The extruder should be moving equal distances with each reversal of direction, but it isn't. It's either moving too far, or not far enough, every other layer.