Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Successful 1st ABS Print

Posted by Roberts_Clif 
Successful 1st ABS Print
September 14, 2018 10:16PM
I have been printing PLA now for 2 years very Successfully.

So 1 week ago I ordered 3 Rolls of ABS and to my surprise today they kind of arrived. (Picture below)

You will note that out of an order of 3 rolls of filament only Red and Blue are ABS the Black was actually the most important for my needs.
And you will note in the picture this one roll of filament that I needed the most is not ABS it is PLA now this is just my luck!

And after trying to print on my Vinyl Transfer Paper with No luck I went to Blue Tape, only to find it was not the tape at all.
I had a little problem getting the Proximity Sensor slide mount to adjusted to the lower height I ran out of screw threads.
Well I wanted the first ABS print to be an average test, So I selected the Fossil Fish Key ring.
With tight corners, bridging a quick print time this was my selection for the first test print.

Setting the nozzle temperature to 230C the bed temperature to 96C fan speed to 58% started my first ABS Print.
Total print time 55 minutes.

Checking the Z-Axis and Proximity sensor reviled that the Sensor locking screw had become loose messing with the Z-Axis calibrations.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 09/16/2018 07:51AM by Roberts_Clif.

Computer Programmer / Electronics Technician
GR
Re: Successful 1st ABS Print
September 16, 2018 07:49AM
Hi Roberts,
Congratulations for your printed part, it really looks amazing!!

From our own experience, blue tape will work for smaller parts, things begin to get tricky when the parts are bigger, larger, and taller (and it depends on the part itself, how lateral tensions are created within the part + infill).

The nozzle temperature (130 C) seems a bit too low for ABS...

George Gal
DustnPrint Evangelist
www.dustnprint.com/blog
September 16, 2018 07:51AM
Corrected the above missed the 2 and hit a 1.