Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Z Axis does not move during prints, so layers overlap

Posted by Zarret 
Z Axis does not move during prints, so layers overlap
May 13, 2019 02:04PM
Hi,

I'm new to 3D printing and I have gotten almost everything up and running, I just have this one last snag.

During prints, the Z axis does not move and this causes the layers to print on top of one another. The nozzle ends up digging into previous layers.
I have full control over the printer and can move all axes in printrun, and when I start a print, all axes home perfectly and the nozzle goes to the correct height above the bed and the first layer prints well. The Z axis seems to work perfectly and I'm just not sure what the issue is.

I have attached the Gcode of the 20mm cube that I am trying to print, sliced from CraftWare 1.21.1.
The same thing happened when I attempted to slice from printrun.
All the steppers seem to work and everything seems in order, it's just this.

I use an arduino attached to a RAMPS 1.4.

I will also attach a copy of my Marlin.

Any help would be appreciated!
Attachments:
open | download - 20mm_cube.gcode (83 KB)
open | download - COPY OF MARLIN SECOND CONFIG.H.txt (144.5 KB)
Re: Z Axis does not move during prints, so layers overlap
May 13, 2019 09:04PM
I look at your Firmware, and see that you have

#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT { 80, 80, 2560, 94.69 }

On my 3D Printer it would mean that I have a X and Y belt, And I have a all-thread Lead-screw that is 8mm x 1.25 thread

What 3D Printer do you have, an could you post a picture of your Lead screws.
I have a photo of three Lead screws below from Left to Right " all nuts are turned one revolution only"
1st is a TR8-8 would use a 400
2nd is a TR8-2 would use a 1600 /this is what I use/
3rd is a 8mm X 1.25 thread all thread would use a 2560 / this is what your numbers are saying you have.

Hope this will help you.

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 05/13/2019 09:06PM by Roberts_Clif.