Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

E motors stops working after 1 layer

Posted by JorKsX 
E motors stops working after 1 layer
June 01, 2019 07:20PM
Hi. I am not retarted, I have been printing for 3 years, now one of my printer stops working after first layer.
My E motors just stops working after first layer. It cutts off voltage, measured from wires, 0v. others are 0.2-1.1 depents on the speed.
I have changed board, stepper drivers, cables, motors, tried marlin 1.1.8, then 1.1.9. then some ready configured marlins, all do the same.
Extruder does not click or anything, it just stops.
X Y and Z continues to print.
Im using reptier with slic3r PE.
Problem is not the cable or usb port.

Some testing I have done, if the first layer is printed 30mm/s, then seccond layer starts and it speeds up to 60mm/s, E stops
If first layer is 30mm/s and seccond one is 30mm/s E works fine, it does not stops.
E motor does not like the change of speed.
And my normal speed settings are like 80mm/s, now I cannot go over 30mm/s
if first layer is 30mm/s seccond one is also 30mm/s, and next 10 layers are 30mm/s, then I speed up to 80mm/s, E works fine, no problems.

Problem is only with the rapid change of speed when changing layers.
I have tried old cura, new 4.0 cura, s3d, no difference.

Ideas? Do I tear down the printer and melt it?
every other printer is working fine but this ender 3 is giving me headace.
Board is MKS gen L with 4 tmc 2208 runing in stealthchop
Re: E motors stops working after 1 layer
June 02, 2019 03:54AM
My guess is that the extruder stepper driver is going into thermal shutdown. Reduce the current setting on that driver, or try a new driver, or provide better cooling.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
June 02, 2019 06:23AM
dc42