Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Delta speed inconsistent

Posted by TF53 
Delta speed inconsistent
June 04, 2019 05:48PM
Hi,

I have been building reprap printers as a hobby for a few years now and recently started to build my first delta. Everithing seems to be ok, motors are calibrated and there is no mechanical blocking point (when moving the carriages by hand, it seems quite smooth).

The issue i have is that the travel speed seems to be unconsistent and causes bad prints. I have shot a short video of the phenomenon.

Printer caracteristics:
  • main board : rumba
  • motor dirvers : TMC2130, SPI controlled
  • firmware : Marlin v1.1.9

Here is the kind of prints that come out of the printer (please note the inconsistency of the extruded filament on the top)

Has anyone already encountered a similar issue? I have heard somewhere that marlin could have problems handling drivers with more than 16 microsteps, can this cause that kind of problem?
Re: Delta speed inconsistent
June 05, 2019 03:20AM
Just a hunch, but can it be that the processor of the Rumba doesn't have enough capacity to handle the calculations with high microstepping? I remember vaguely that a Delta-styled printer is heavier on the microprocessor and that higher microstepping adds a lot of strain on it.

Can anyone elaborate on this? It definitely looks like a controller issue and doesn't look like binding of the axes.

http://www.marinusdebeer.nl/
June 05, 2019 05:43AM
I agree with @Ohmarinus, it looks to me like insufficient CPU processing time to get everything done. It's easier to get good results from deltas if you use 32-bit controller electronics. But here are some tips that may help you get more from your 8-bit electronics;

- Check your delta segments per second setting. I hear that 100 is about right, and 200 is too much for an 8-bit processor.
- If you have a graphical LCD, try disabling it in the firmware. Keeping a graphical LCD updated uses a lot of CPU time.