Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hotend Will Not Heat Up

Posted by cdaileyjr 
Hotend Will Not Heat Up
July 06, 2019 04:11PM
Hello Friends;

I have only one issue that is keeping me from printing my first 3D part. Obviously, nothing can be printed without a functional and dependable hotend. All of my other components are working except this. I am hoping someone had a similar problem and is willing to walk me through. I am a newbie this is my first attempt at building a 3D Printer.

PROBLEM
Hotend will not heat up.
When printer is turned on and connected to Proneterface I attempted to heat up the hotend by depressing the “set” button for the heater. Almost immediately I got the following status message:

BACKGROUND
I am building this 3D Printer entirely from scratch.
These are the components I am using in the build:
ARDUINO MEGA 2660
RAMPS 1.4 SHIELD
V6 BOWDEN EXTRUDER HOTEND
This is the software I’m using:
Marlin 1.1.9
Pronterface (Printrun 1.6.0)
Windows 10

This is my Marlin settings:

Pronterfaac indicators
One thing I’ve noticed is the hotend temperature show 0degres C before I connect the printer to Ponterface. However, as soon as I connect the printer the hotend temperature Pronterface shows is -15 degrees C. This is probably why I get the MINTEMP error.

I tested the thermistor and it reads 100 ohm indicating to me that its is properly functioning.

QUESTION
How do I correct Pronterface hotend temperature to read a more correct room temperature of approximately 24 degrees C?
I would appreciate any help anyone can offer.

Please let me know if additional information is needed.

Thank you,
Calvin
Attachments:
open | download - MINTEMP failure to print.docx (12.7 KB)
Re: Hotend Will Not Heat Up
July 06, 2019 05:40PM
Have you set the correct thermistor type in the Marlin FW thermistor table?

Also, did you check for any shorts or cable breaks between the thermistor and the Ramps board?