Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Delta printer dimensional accuracy not square

Posted by mnester 
Delta printer dimensional accuracy not square
October 28, 2019 12:02PM
Hello, before I go into the problem, allow me to give some background so that we avoid the noob talk. I am a mechanical engineer and I have been 3d printing since 2013 I believe. I have experience with Rostock MAX V2 and now also the HE3D K280 (yea it was a very cheap option and hard to pass up). I am very familiar with Marlin 1.1.8 and 1.1.9.

For the purposes of printing trinkets, the K280 with its auto bed leveling feature is great. However, when I try to print something that requires dimensional accuracy, and let's say I print a rectangle that is supposed to be 5.310" by 8.070", then I would get 5.334" on one end by 5.394" on the other. I'm not concerned about the scaling, it's more about the .060" difference between both ends of the part. I think the other axis had a .020" difference. This is a huge problem for me and so I updated to Marlin 1.1.9 with unified bed leveling in the hopes that I can adjust this difference (steps per mm of each arm) and then the mesh table could just lower or raise the print head regardless of the unoffset tool head path. Well that did not solve anything. UBL does a great job at allowing you to print the first layer but it did not make the parts more square.

I decided to re-frame the whole printer with stronger and stiffer 2040 aluminum towers instead of the 2020 and use metal corners and doubled up on the corner joiners. I test printed and now my difference is about .030". I made sure to build this thing very carefully and using a metal 90degree aluminum angle piece to check if everything is being assembled together squarely.

.030" is still too much. I have made sure that the print bed is at 90 degrees versus all the towers and it is.

Here are the 2 things I have been fighting: