Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Printing PLA on glass

Posted by tabana 
Printing PLA on glass
April 20, 2020 05:58AM
I've been printing PLA on (60 C) bare glass for last 5 months. I'm cleaning glass between each print with 70% alcohol bought at pharmacy. I have ran out of this liquid and bought 96% one from another store. Cleaning with new liquid results in not sticking first layer eye popping smiley.

I'm not sure which substances are present in 70% alcohol, but obviously they are important in my case. I tried cleaning with window cleaner also, but with no success. Does anyone have more experience with this? Does 70% one leave thin coat which helps to bond first layer?
Re: Printing PLA on glass
April 20, 2020 09:31AM
Isopropyl Alcohol should not leave a residue.

I use 50%-91% Isopropyl Alcohol, the 50% Isopropyl Alcohol is even green in color and has not cause layer adhesion problems on My 3D Printer.

Computer Programmer / Electronics Technician
April 20, 2020 06:14PM
My bad, I'm probably using wrong type of alcohol because mine is labeled as ethanol smiling bouncing smiley What is the difference for this purpose? I guess I was lucky with 1st bottle spinning smiley sticking its tongue out
April 20, 2020 08:21PM
Think I found an answer for you

labproinc
Isopropyl alcohol (IPA) is the more common choice for cleaning electronics because it evaporates more rapidly than ethanol and also because it does not leave any traces of oils upon evaporation.
Isopropyl alcohol (IPA) is the preferable choice for cleaning because of its rapid rate of evaporation and its purity required to clean electronics without damaging them.
While Isopropyl alcohol is marginally more expensive than ethanol, its superior purity characteristics make it a safer choice, especially when cleaning the most sensitive electronic components.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/20/2020 08:23PM by Roberts_Clif.

April 21, 2020 02:35AM
Thank you Robert smileys with beer