Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Filament feed rate?

Posted by 2SH43 
Filament feed rate?
June 26, 2013 11:09AM
Whenever I start a print, the filament doesn't extrude within the first 3 seconds of the print. The filament comes out quite slowly and only touches the bed around the 4th second of the print, causing the filament to curl up and not really stick.

Is this because of the feed rate? Or is it due to other problems that I'm oblivious about? I'm very new to 3D printing, so much more to learn. As for now, I'm pretty much stumped.

I'm using a Printrbot Jr with Pronterface + Slic3r
Re: Filament feed rate?
June 26, 2013 12:55PM
Do you do anything to make sure your hot end is primed. At least you should extrude into the air until you get good flow, nip off the filament with tweezers and then hit the print button (or some similar procedure).

You can also do the same thing with a g code preamble that slic3r allows you to add. I have a preamble that homes, moves to the right, sets the z height to 0.5mm, extrudes 3 millimeters of filament, pauses for 2 seconds, moves QUICKLY back to home, and then moves onto the print. The idea behind the quick move is to basically "wipe" the print head before the print starts. The idea behind the 0.5 height is that as the head oozes during warm up, there wont be an excessive amount of filament building up.
June 26, 2013 01:59PM
Yep. I extrude a lil filament before any printing. Some extra plastic would even ooze out.

As for g-code preambling... I got lost after "preamble" xD. Maybe I'm not looking close enough, but I can't find a "preamble" setting.

Here are some attachments of my settings.
Attachments:
open | download - 1.jpg (147.4 KB)
open | download - 2.jpg (104.1 KB)
open | download - 3.jpg (146.5 KB)
June 27, 2013 12:26AM
In the printer page, there is a tab for custom gcode, and one of those is for starting gcode. You have to type in the g code you want to be added to the beginning of the generated g code.