Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Why can't I slice something I made in Sketchup?

Posted by vetteguy112233 
Why can't I slice something I made in Sketchup?
November 17, 2013 03:47PM
I'm still learning the whole 3d development side of things and wow is it hard. Yesterday I made an open cube in Sketchup and for whatever reason Slic3r wouldn't slice it. My son wanted me to make a marble trapped in a box, so I measured the marble and using Sketchup I made a box that was the correct size. The sides were 4mm and overall length/width/height was 22mm. It took me about an hour to make sure all walls were there and filled in, but it looked perfect. I then exported it as an STL file and opened it in Netfabb, which told me I had errors. It told me the errors were the inside walls of the cube. It tried to repair them, but ended up adding extra walls for some reason.

I thought maybe Slic3r would just slice it, so I loaded my config file and did a quick slice on my file and got the following error:
Modification of non-creatable array value attempted, subscript -1 at print.pm line 891

This is just a simple open cube, what could possibly be wrong?

I've attached it in hopes someone can help.

THANKS!
Attachments:
open | download - myhollowcube.stl (19.9 KB)
Re: Why can't I slice something I made in Sketchup?
November 17, 2013 03:53PM
I just imported my file into Sketchup again and I noticed that the lines I used to make my cube were changed. I guess it did this when it exported it as an STL file. Originally I had nice even concentric lines that I used to make the cube and for some reason now they are randomly placed, even though it still looks like a cube, the lines are in different places. I also tried adding more lines to make more smaller triangles and that didn't help.
November 17, 2013 07:19PM
I tried fixing your file but it was very messed up. Not sure how or what happened but I just whipped up the same object for you that works (took 10 minutes).
Attachments: