Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Slicer closing/crashing

Posted by sfinke 
Slicer closing/crashing
May 24, 2015 02:22PM
Hi,

I get slicer crashing/closing almost every time I try to use it. Usually it just closes without warnign or fanfare but twice i got this error message:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: slic3r.exe
Application Version: 1.2.6.77
Application Timestamp: 503fe786
Fault Module Name: perl514.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4f85cd47
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00041779
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

What could be causing this? I only started playing around with slicer a few hours ago so I'm happy to accept its something I'm doing wrong, just can't think what it is...

thanks.
Re: Slicer closing/crashing
May 24, 2015 03:58PM
Unfortunately slic3r 1.2.6 does crash a lot. I find it's OK provided that after loading and slicing a model, when I want to slice another one, I exit and reload slic3r. It seems to be deleting the model on the platter and loading another one that causes the trouble.

Large delta printer [miscsolutions.wordpress.com], E3D tool changer, Robotdigg SCARA printer, Crane Quad and Ormerod

Disclosure: I design Duet electronics and work on RepRapFirmware, [duet3d.com].
May 24, 2015 04:02PM
Just realised I gave scant information. So to rectify:

Slicer 1.2.6
Windows 7 Pro

The crashes are random to my eyes. They occur when I import an stl, change settings, export a file or just have slicer open while I finish a quick game of solitaire. I should also mention that I have been able to export gcode files without issues too. Could it be the fact that I am using the beta?

Thanks.
May 24, 2015 05:28PM