Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Horrible top layer on prints

Posted by Twitchity 
Horrible top layer on prints
January 15, 2016 01:00PM
I'm not really sure where to begin as I'm still fairly new to 3D printing so I'll try my best. I have a Printrbot 1405 that I converted into my own designed larger printer (180x180x180). Essentially the only parts I reused from the Printrbot are the stepper motors, X/Y stop switches, z-probe, and Printrboard. My printer is still setup to perform the 3 point z-probe for autolevel of the print bed. Layer height is set to 0.32mm due to the use of my 8mm thread pitch acme rods. I got the layer height from the RepRap calculator and it has been working great. For what I'm using the printer for the 0.32mm layer height is just fine.

I've printed with ABS, PLA, and PETG filament and all three give the same results. I've calibrated the extruder so extrusion width matches the nozzle width of 0.4, and the 20mm calibration cube I printed out was within .05mm of actual size. The printer works great on everything except the very last top layer. This first picture was printed at 0.32mm layer height, 3 bottom solid layers, 3 top solid layers. As you can see in the center part where I tore the bad top layer away the print quality is in my opinion extremely nice, and then the top layer gets all messed up. I use Repetier Host with Slic3r for all of my printing. In the preview layer 4 appears to have a wider extruded line width than layer 5 (top layer). You'll also see the preview for layer 4 and 5 from Repetier Host below. The extrusion width is noticeable just by looking at it. I don't know if this is what's causing the problem or not.