Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A few OPS questions

Posted by orcinus 
A few OPS questions
December 05, 2012 10:57PM
I've had some not-quite-good experiences with Repetier-fw's OPS and decided to go back to Slic3r's retract while i figure out what i'm doing wrong...

Question #1: With OPS on, fast mode, set to start at 0% move, the retract starts about the same time the next move does (as expected), but the re-prime occurs after the move is finished, with the head stationary, before the next move in queue begins. Is that normal?

Question #2: The OPS retract/re-prime feed rate / acceleration are rather slow. I don't mind slow retract (since its speed is proportional to the feed rate and distance of the move), but slow re-prime is a pain. At slow speeds it results in the (hot) nozzle/block hovering stationary above the object while the re-prime finishes, and re-melting the previous layer. Is there a way to make it faster?

Apologies for being annoying with all the "issues" and questions, i've finally decided to switch from Marlin to Repetier and just can't seem to get it tuned to the same level i've had Marlin. Thanks for all the hard work, love your software!
Re: A few OPS questions
December 06, 2012 11:40AM
I think you have set the max extruder speed wrong. It is a bit misleading that the max value is in mm/min while start feedrate is in mm/second. The re-prime uses max speed for computation, which would also explain that you don't see much re-prime in your case.

If you are coming from Marlin you might like the new developer version. There pid values are like in Marlin and also many marlin g-codes now work in that firmware. But be aware that the config has changed a bit - now all speeds are set in mm/s.

Repetier-Software - the home of Repetier-Host (Windows, Linux and Mac OS X) and Repetier-Firmware.
Repetier-Server - the solution to control your printer from everywhere.
Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!
December 06, 2012 08:31PM