Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Shift in Z-axis

Posted by mundsen 
Shift in Z-axis
January 26, 2014 03:44PM
Hi!
I have a ORD BOT Hadron + Rumba Controller + Bulldog Extruder + E3D-V5 + 64A + hotend Running the latest Repetier firmware + Repetier Host.
This is a New printer that I `m trying to configure/fine tune.
I have made a simple qube 20x20x20mm in sketchup that I have printed using Repetier, and the printed result is fine and the qube meashures 20x20x20mm +/- 0,0xxmm
But then I made a larger test qube that is 40x40x40mm With some holes.. - when I try to print this it start without any problems, but after some layers (ramdom when) the Y axis shifts 1-3mm.
I have tested 4 times - in one test it shifted after printing 30mm (height), an other after 5-6mm..
I have mounted a fan cooling the drivers, so I do not think heating is an issue, and the belt.. seems fine
When moving the heated bed in the Y axis manually all seems fine
The latest print was With default print speed at 130, but have tested as low as 80

Any hints on why I have this problem, where to start trying to fix it?
Re: Shift in Z-axis
January 26, 2014 03:55PM
Have you checked the temperature of the motors themselves. I noticed the same issue on mine and found it would skip steps when the motor became hot to the touch. I played with the driver tuning for a few days to no avail, so I tried adding a fan to the motor - motor is now only warm to the touch and the issue went away.
January 26, 2014 06:05PM
Put the y axis stepper on one of the free extruder stepper slots and change the configuration accordingly.

Repetier-Software - the home of Repetier-Host (Windows, Linux and Mac OS X) and Repetier-Firmware.
Repetier-Server - the solution to control your printer from everywhere.
Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!
January 27, 2014 01:08AM
My motors do not get hot at all, so I do not hink that is the problem.