Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

from scratch

Posted by Biomech 
from scratch
October 06, 2012 02:21PM
Hello everybody!
I've been following this project for a while since I like the design of this printer, it's simple, yet it gets high quality results.
Well done Sublime!
Now that I am fully determined to make this machine, I am putting together the necessary parts.
Although I have some experience with electronic and mechanical components, I am going to need a some help, and I wish you could point me in the right direction.
First, I want to make the machine a little bigger, so I can print some 250 (L) x 150 (W) x 150 (H) mm. Originally I wanted to use an old scanner glass, which is twice the surface, but perhaps this is a bit ambitious for a first attempt. So I will cut the glass in half.
The other issue is that I have several stepper motors that are different from this design requires. They looks like a NEMA23, but slightly different. The "front" surface is 56x56mm, 47x47mm between holes, 40mm deep. The shaft is 19mm long, 6mm diameter. I am attaching a couple of pictures for reference. Crouzet 89.908.001.
I'll have to change the whole section of the Z axis, and the motor support on the extruder. I don't see much problem with the gears or mounting on the wall of the cabinet.
What worries me is I have no detailed specifications, is that is 200 steps (1.8 degrees), I only know it is 1.68V and 0.7 Ohms per coil (which would give 2.4A). In tests I've done they show to have enough torque.
What I want to know is if they are appropriate for RAMPS + Pololu. As far as I understand, I should have no problems but I want to be sure.

I will appreciate your comments.

Thank you,

Biomech.
Attachments:
open | download - stmotor.jpg (23.2 KB)
open | download - motor_dimensions.jpg (58.2 KB)
Re: from scratch
October 06, 2012 03:14PM
Biomech Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Hello everybody!