Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

So I want to build a Tantillus!

Posted by deathstar 
So I want to build a Tantillus!
October 26, 2012 04:13PM
the title says it all! I have never built a 3d printer before and had my heart set on a Rostock but after researching this awesome machineI have decided that I need it in my life. I have questions so bear with me especially since I am new to all of this. Which Nema 17 stepper motors are required for this? I read that the max the should be is 40mm but I dont know which ones I should buy. I was looking at Pololu stepper drivers and I dont know which ones I am supposed to buy, the A4983 or A4988? I want to use Ramps with an Arduino board so at leat I have that figured out but which 20 position encoder am I suposed to buy? Can you use a heated bed with this printer.
Re: So I want to build a Tantillus!
October 26, 2012 05:02PM
deathstar Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> the title says it all! I have never built a 3d
> printer before and had my heart set on a Rostock
> but after researching this awesome machine I have
> decided that I need it in my life. I have
> questions so bear with me especially since I am
> new to all of this.

Welcome to 3D printing.

Which Nema 17 stepper motors
> are required for this? I read that the max the
> should be is 40mm but I dont know which ones I
> should buy.

They should be 1.5 - 2 amp and as high of torque as possible. The ones supplied are 42BYGHW and I have one with 42BYGHM. You can use any of the ones recommended for RepRap as long as they are 40mm or less in length. You can use longer ones on the Laser cut machine if you are willing to modify the bed a little and lose a few mm in Z height.

I was looking at Pololu stepper
> drivers and I dont know which ones I am supposed
> to buy, the A4983 or A4988?

They no longer make the A4983 so you need the A4988 drivers.

I want to use Ramps
> with an Arduino board so at leat I have that