Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

smiling smiley Newbie to 3D Printers Starting to Build One, Need Mentors/Advice

Posted by daniel.holmes 
smiling smiley Newbie to 3D Printers Starting to Build One, Need Mentors/Advice
October 24, 2013 01:40PM
Hey all,

I'm new to building a 3D printer but I'm a software engineering student (1A) and I have access to a hackerspace and my university has plenty of resources. I would like some help from the Tantillus community in building a Tantillus, I have the budget for it (~$400 CDN), I just need some advice and guidance through the process.

I was thinking of purchasing the following electronics kit to get most of the electronics except for maybe the extruder head:

Link to Amazon.ca Page

It includes the following:
1 X Sainsmart RAMPS 1.4
1 X Sainsmart Mega 2560 R3
5 X Sainsmart A4988 driver
1 X SainSmart 2004 Smart Yellow LCD Controller With Adapter
1 X Sainsmart SD card breakout For ramps
1 X Sainsmart Cooler Fan for 3D ramps
6 X Sainsmart Mechanical Endstop with cable
1 X Sainsmart RAMPS 1.4 wiring cable
1 X SainSmart Heatbed MK2a
5 X NEMA 17 Stepper Motors Minebea Mill Robot RepRap Makerbot Prusa 3D Printer
1 X USB Cable

Would this be a good kit to purchase? If not, what do you recommend? Any/all thoughts/advice is appreciated! smiling smiley
Re: smiling smiley Newbie to 3D Printers Starting to Build One, Need Mentors/Advice
October 24, 2013 03:06PM
The LCD will be too large to fit in the opening in the original case but others have modified the case to fit a 20x04 LCD.

You do not need the heated bed and it will not fit in Tantillus.

Yo only need one endstop not 6 and it can not have the pcb attached

You only need 4 motors not 5

FFF Settings Calculator Gcode post processors Geometric Object Deposition Tool Blog
Tantillus.org Mini Printable Lathe How NOT to install a Pololu driver
Re: smiling smiley Newbie to 3D Printers Starting to Build One, Need Mentors/Advice
October 24, 2013 03:16PM