Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Fixing a broken down Tantillus at my local hackspace

Posted by ashleywebster 
Fixing a broken down Tantillus at my local hackspace
April 02, 2014 03:18AM
Hi everyone.

I'm relatively new to 3D printing but studying hard. I joined the Vancouver Hackspace after learning they have a Tantillus which has apparently not worked in a year. The axis ends were all broken along the tensioner, so I printed new ones. The thermistor had fallen out and the hotend was jammed, so we tore it down, cleaned it, and wrapped the nozzle back up with silicon tape. Hopefully that will avoid future meltdowns. One of the stepper drivers was toast but luckily there was a box of them at the hackspace so an easy fix, and I learned to tune the pots properly. Tonight I got it all put back together, jogged the axes around, and extruded a few mm of plastic into the air. Now I just need to get the tool-chain set up on one of the computers and it should be operational again.

I have a few concerns about how the cable is running. Generally speaking, the whole drive train does not seem to line up. Picture 1 shows how the cable is not running parallel to the rod. I have tried pushing the loops over so they are in line with the hole in the axis ends, but they just get pulled back again. The problem, as far as I can tell, is that the hole in the rod is too far to the left so the cable is always being pulled away from the line that runs parallel to the axis ends. Pictures 2-5 show how the cables running outside of the gantry do not sit in that nice smooth curve but rub on the axes end or the edge of the rod, which is sure to cause trouble eventually.