Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Building a Prusa Mendel I3 - Need some hands on help

Posted by salinas_reprap 
Building a Prusa Mendel I3 - Need some hands on help
October 04, 2013 12:13PM
Guys,

I am in the process of building my first kit, I chose the Prusa Mendel I3 standard waterjet cut plate kit from Norcalreprap. I am running in to problems as I have never built anything like this before. A lot of the issues are revolving around the fact that there are 6 or 8 different sets of instructions on line ( some better than others) and I am having to pick pieces out of each different set of instructions. I have a lot of small questions but important ones that I am running in to.

I am wondering if anyone is doing build days for RepRaps any more around the bay area. Is there a way to get some hands on help building this kit. I just cant afford to accidently destroy a part of the kit that I will have to struggle to replace. I would also like to know some of the tricks to dialing it in the right way.

Any help or advice you guys could give me would be super helpful.

Mark
Re: Building a Prusa Mendel I3 - Need some hands on help
October 04, 2013 01:00PM
Mark,

I started on mine last week, but one of my coworkers is building the same kit and we have been collaborating.

Here is my advice. First, use some acetone and a qtip on some of the tight places that the plastic doesn't fit as you are assembling. For other places, you can use a keyhole file... they are about the same size as the M3 screws and works really well. If all else fails, you can use a heater or something else to melt the plastic... but only do that in extreme cases (like when you need to put a nut into a hole).

For acetone, a little bit goes a long way. I used it to put the rods into the plastic pieces.