Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

x-idler and x-motor problem

Posted by b8tfk 
x-idler and x-motor problem
October 27, 2013 02:15PM
Hello Mendel90 Users,

I,m new to the fourum, I am a Mendel90 owner and I really love the kit that Chris and Mary supplied. I've been using it for about 2 months and its going well, I've done about 70 hours on it with mostly successful prints.
I've now come to a dead end with this one! Im trying to print out RED X-IDLER and X-MOTOR parts but in Slic3r it does not print the nut traps and treats them as a solid. Im using Slic3r as i find Skineforge way too complex. I have no experience in it so thats why i haven't used it. Has any one else tried to print this part out?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks B8TFK
Re: x-idler and x-motor problem
October 27, 2013 02:44PM
It's a known fault with Slic3r, caused by a bug in OpenSCAD creating internal cavities with surface normals pointing the wrong way. Skeinforge copes better, but the bug is in OpenSCAD. It's in Chris' latest blog post.
October 27, 2013 02:59PM
Thanks for the reply and pointing me into the right direction. I suppose its now time to look into skineforge to slice the part. Hope i can get the hang of skineforge.
October 27, 2013 03:14PM
Good luck with that. Let me know how it goes! smiling smiley

I think I'm going to try modifying the OpenSCAD files rather than learn Skeinforge. I have 20+ years of experience in IT with a strong developer background but Skeinforge still scares the bejeebus out of me... grinning smiley
October 27, 2013 04:50PM
I have given up on skineforge! what a pig!
October 28, 2013 01:48AM
I would love to see a picture of your machine with red parts. It would look awesome. I'd like colored parts for mine but would not be eager to rebuild it just to have color LOL ..
October 28, 2013 07:03AM
b8tfk Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I have given up on skineforge! what a pig!