Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How would you slice this stl?

Posted by Nilez 
How would you slice this stl?
November 11, 2013 05:46PM
Hi all,

I'm posting this picture of a design I need to print. As I'm very new to 3d printing I would greatly appreciate it if you have any tips for slicing this object. For instance on the orientation of the object. Is it best to print it upright like in the picture, with support material underneath the wide overhangs and the tubular sections? (I will try with both skeinforge and slic3r)

Thanks very much in advance,

Niels

BTW Right now I'm trying skeinforge with the raft setting (set base layer and interface layers set to 0 to ingnore the raft) turned on so I'm able to use the support function. It seems it's doing a good job so far but unfortunately the support structure lifted off the bed and warped the print angry smiley

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 11/11/2013 06:31PM by Nilez.
Attachments:
open | download - tubeholder.jpg (67.8 KB)
Re: How would you slice this stl?
November 11, 2013 08:09PM
The support structure came out too dense (lines very close to eachother) and bonded too strong to the object with Skeinforge. Guess I have to lower the support flow rate ratio

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/11/2013 08:10PM by Nilez.
November 12, 2013 02:37AM
Is the object flat on the rear? If it is, I would turn it 90 degrees backwards so the hole collars point upwards.

I find that holes print better in the X-Y plane than in Z and if the piece has no protrusions on the rear it will provide a good surface for adhesion without the need for support.

A link to the STL or all-round views would help a little more.

Regards,
Neil Darlow

I try to write with consideration for all nationalities. Please let me know if something is unclear.
Printing with Mendel90 from fedora 25 using Cura, FreeCAD, MeshLab, OpenSCAD, Skeinforge and Slic3r tools.
November 12, 2013 06:08AM
Hi Neil