Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Extruder Heater Power

Posted by amr_dwarf 
Extruder Heater Power
February 10, 2014 03:17PM
I am looking at the Pico: [www.b3innovations.com]
Can the Melzi board I got in the kit from Nophead handle 40 watts of power at 12V?

/ Amr_Dwarf
Re: Extruder Heater Power
February 11, 2014 05:58AM
The Melzi can handle it easily. The limiting factor is the ribbon cable which has three wires in parallel for the heater, which is just about enough, but a bit marginal for 40W.

[www.hydraraptor.blogspot.com]
March 10, 2014 09:22AM
Would it be recommended to mount an additional ribbon cable?
March 10, 2014 12:02PM
I've been using a 40 watt heater for a couple of months without problems.
March 11, 2014 03:48AM
That sound good Ralph!

So if I should pre-order a Pico is it the "groove mount" option I should choose?

Anything else to think about, nozzle sizes, etc?
March 11, 2014 05:15AM
The groove mount looks right for the Mendel90 - 16mm. I've been using the E3D. [e3d-online.com] . I have 0.4 and 0.6 nozzles. I use the 0.6 much more as it prints faster and I'm not particularly concerned about the rougher finish for most things I print. I'll get a 0.8 soon
March 11, 2014 06:22AM
Do the E3D fit straight on to the Mendel90 or is there som modifications needed?
Is there a table for the thermistor avalible?
How do you supply power to the fan in the E3D?

I was also thinking of going to a bigger nozzle just to improve speed on bigger parts.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/11/2014 08:16AM by amr_dwarf.
March 11, 2014 10:40AM
I fitted a washer with the E3D so that it was held firmly in the extruder. Otherwise it fits fine.
The sensor supplied uses:
#define TEMP_SENSOR_0 5
The power for the fan can come from the left probe pin (gnd) and the left heater pin (+12) on the small pcb.
March 11, 2014 11:11AM
So it works fine with the fan only powered when the heater is on? I was thinking about a way to have the fan constant on.