Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My first hotend jamb

Posted by plankton 
My first hotend jamb
December 04, 2015 05:07PM
Not bad, I've been using my Mendel90 for 10 months and this is the first hotend jamb, however having no experience with jambs I'm trying to work out the cause.

I hadn't used the printer for a couple of weeks, but wanted to print a Raspberry Pi case for an Owl nest box web camera I'm making my Dad for Christmas. I did a quick calibration test with a 20mm cube, that printed without problems, so I moved on to the Pi case (in PLA). The print started without problems, but when I next checked the head wasn't extruding plastic.

I did a complete strip down and found plastic jambed the whole length of the hotend (a genuine J-head from hotends.com), there was no obvious cause, however this is the first time I've had the J-head apart so I'm not sure if I would spot all problems. I removed all but a smear of plastic inside the hot end, when it was as clear as I could make it, I reassembled

After rebuilding the hotend and extruder I tried again. Another calibration cube printed without problems, but the Pi case resulted in exactly the same failure:

When I next checked on the print, there should have been several layers completed, instead I found this, so I cancelled.
Removing the hotend you can see the plastic has melted the whole length of the heat break...
...and even back into the extruder.
This time (rather than completely dismantle the hotend), I put it in the oven at 80C for 15 mins, then was able to tug the blockage out of the hotend with small pliers. Now I have no experience with hotend jambs, but that looks to me as though the heat break has failed somehow, either that or it is normal for a jamb to cause heat to propagate back up the heat break?

So not having any previous experience, can anyone tell me if that heat creep is normal when the nozzle jambs, or should I be looking for a problem with the heat break?

Tim

Printers: